Marriage License Requirements
Indiana Law requires that Marriage License be purchased in the county in which you reside. Therefore, one member of the wedding couple must reside in Posey County. This will allow the couple to marry in any county in Indiana. An out-of-state couple may obtain license in Posey County if they are being married here. https://courts.in.gov/marriage
After information has been entered into https://courts.in.gov/marriage, to finalize a Marriage License, the couple must both be present together at the Clerk’s Office. Bring your State Issued ID, Driver’s License, Birth Certificate or Passport and your Social Security number along with applicable fees. Appointments are not necessary; however, an appointment is required to be married by the Clerk. Out of the country Birth Certificates must be officially translated if used for ID. Issued license expires in 60 days.
Fees: Indiana residents – $25
Out of state residents – $65
After the ceremony, the completed license MUST be returned to the Clerk’s Office ASAP to enable it to be recorded. At that time certified copies will be issued; which are legal proof the ceremony was performed.
To request a copy of your Marriage License obtained in Posey County, you may call or email the Clerk’s Office. The cost is $1 per copy and $3 per certification.